WCAG 2.0

Many websites provide important information in PDF documents but they are often not accessible, which means that readers with disabilities miss the information. Most PDFs can be made accessible in a small number of steps that will seem familiar if you have created accessible HTML.

Today, WCAG 2.0 is formally recognized by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) as an ISO/IEC JTC 1 Standard.  ISO is the world’s largest developer and publisher of International Standards and is a network of the national standards institutes of some 164 countries as of July 2012.

For more information, see:

ISO/IEC 40500:2012

The content of ISO/IEC 40500 is freely available from the W3C WAI website and is also available for purchase from the ISO catalog.  Note: this is exactly the same content and there are no differences.  The WCAG 2.0 guidelines will continue to be published for free. 

The WCAG 2.0 guidelines covers a wide range of recommendations for making Web content accessible. The approval of WCAG 2.0 as an ISO standard allows countries and organizations more easily adopt the guidelines.  Judy Brewer, Director of the Web Accessibility Initiative at W3C notes, "The ISO/IEC imprimatur increases the avenues for adoption of W3C technology and guidelines.  In some countries, policies require that nationally adopted technical standards must be ISO/IEC. Formal approval by JTC 1 of WCAG 2.0 will increase deployment, reduce fragmentation, and provide all users with greater interoperability on the web."

Supporting resources from W3C:

The web is a visual medium, which is a great way to convey information…unless you’re blind. An image, or other visual content, is only informative if users can see it. So making images perceivable is one of the most important ways to make websites accessible.

Website Accessibility Conformance Evaluation Methodology (WCAG-EM) describes an approach for evaluating how websites -- including web applications and websites for mobile devices -- conform to Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. It covers different situations, including self-assessment and third-party evaluation. It is independent of particular evaluation tools, web browsers, and assistive technologies.

This methodology is currently published as a draft and is open for public comment.


WCAG-EM is developed by the WCAG 2.0 Evaluation Methodology Task Force (Eval TF), a joint task force of the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines Working Group (WCAG WG) and Evaluation and Repair Tools Working Group (ERT WG). Kathy Wahlbin of Interactive Accessibility is one of the participants on this task force. 

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) sets the main international standards for the World Wide Web and its accessibility.  W3C created the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.0 & 2.1) which are international.  The Section 508 guidlines map to WCAG 2.0 and requires specific techniques for compliance. 

Our thought leadership and expertise in accessibility is internationally-recognized and we leverage it to help you lead your industry, reach new audiences, gain opportunities and reduce legal exposure.

Interactive Accessibility will help you understand the laws for website and web application accessibility.


Subscribe to RSS - WCAG 2.0