WCAG 2.0 Compliance

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) sets the main international standards for the World Wide Web and its accessibility.  W3C created the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG 2.0 & 2.1) which are international.  The Section 508 guidlines map to WCAG 2.0 and requires specific techniques for compliance. 

Many countries and international organizations require compliance with WCAG 2.0 or 2.1.  The guidelines are categorized into three levels of compliance:  A (must support), AA (should support), and AAA (may support).  Representatives from the accessibility community around the world participate in the evolution of these guidelines.

WCAG 2.0 is ISO/IEC 40500

WCAG 2.0 is formally recognized by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) as an ISO/IEC JTC 1 Standard (ISO/IEC 40500:2012).  For compliance with ISO/IEC 40500 there are extensive supporting resources from W3C WAI.

How do you comply with WCAG 2.0?

For managers, developers, policy-makers, and others there are many resources from W3C WAI:

Who needs to follow the WCAG guidelines?

All organizations, Federal and State agencies, and educational institutions should look to the WCAG 2.0 guidelines to provide guideance on how to make products acccessible.  

Section 508 has undergone a refresh and is requiring compliance with these guidelines for all Federal agencies and those who are selling to the Federal guidelines. The Department of Justice is also looking to these guidelines for the set of guidelines that organizations will need to comply to under The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).

Request Your Free Consultation Today!

Contact us today or call (877) 775-9474. We will answer your accessibility questions and discuss your needs and requirements with no pressure or obligation to you.